Only three of the five drivers taking part would secure a space, meaning 2015 podium finisher Charlie Kimball and RC Enerson were the two to miss out.
Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Karam, a seven-time starter in the Indy 500, was the first driver to hit the track with a 230mph opening lap, followed by a 229.4, a 228.8 and a 228.3 creating a four-lap average of 229.156mph.
Next out was …Keep reading